Coffee + butter. Is it just a fad?

It’s probably changed the way I drink coffee forever and starting to get a little more attention in the public domain. Those that know about it are aware that the Tibetans have been adding it to their tea for years and the paleo community want to keep it as their little secret. It received a name called Bulletproofcoffee from – Dave Asprey – who named it after his own brand of coffee. Although Dave didn’t invent the mix, after appearing on an episode of the Joe Rogan show (ep #275), the idea exploded.

20140710-083409-30849973.jpg

It sure has had a huge impact on the way I now have my coffee (turned me into somewhat of a coffee snob) which is interesting because I only started drinking coffee about 3 years ago. Dave talks about mycotoxins in most coffee, but it’s yet to be proven as most high grade organic coffee is mycotoxin free. In fact some mycotoxins are actually beneficial, but that’s beyond my understanding and there are smarter people out there that can educate you on that.

People still turn up their noses when I tell them I add butter to my coffee, which then generally follows with the question of “Why?!”.

Well aside from it being absolutely delicious, there are some health benefits:
– As a morning drink it kick starts the body into burning fat for the day with energy for hours by getting the body to burn fat for energy instead of sugar.
– CLA (conjugated linoleic acid), found in grass-fed butter has been shown to reduce body fat mass, especially in obese people.
– Provides healthy fats as the short-chain fatty acid Butyrate, is anti-inflammatory, helping with heart disease.
– Grass-fed butter has the best ratio of omega-6 to omega-3 fatty acids (which reduces body fat) and has the right fats that regulate cholesterol, not add to it.
– Grass-fed butter is a good source of vitamin K, helps in the deposit of calcium in places like bones and teeth, preventing it from where calcium doesn’t belong such as the soft tissues.

I go a little further and add a little turmeric for the well known health benefits, where the main compound found in turmeric (curcumin) has anti-inflammorty effects and is a good antioxidant. Curcumin is also fat soluble so adding it to my coffee with butter is a perfect combination. A little cayenne powder is added to promote digestion and gives that extra little kick to the day.

So my coffee blend looks like this:
– 2 scoops of freshly ground organic (single origin) coffee. I prefer a medium roast.
– 500 ml water
– 60g of grass-fed butter
– 2 tbs mct oil
– turmeric, cayenne powder to taste

It’s my preferred start to the day, which usually begins at 5am and I’m not hungry or needing food until around 1-2pm. I do intermittent fast so the smooth energy release from the morning coffee is perfect for me. I’m fairly active and when I’m in ketosis I can train early in the day with more than enough energy to get me through.

My wife has hers with at least 21grams of collagen (minus the turmeric and cayenne) as it helps her stay satiated for longer, yet it has the opposite effect on me. When I add protein to my coffee, I don’t seem to be able to go as long without eating. I’m sure there are some studies to this, but I haven’t looked into it any deeper.

It should come with a warning though as my morning coffee has some serious calories in it (500+), but I do live a fairly healthy lifestyle. You can’t have a big coffee full of fat and high calories, then continue to have a poor choice of foods, as you are effectively adding a lot of extra calories to your day. I don’t count calories myself, but I am in tune with what does and doesn’t work for me. I only have it in the morning and it took a few attempts to find the right blend of butter / mct oil before I came to the ratios above. At one stage I had gone right up to 80g of butter and 3 tbs of mct oil.

Is it just a fad that will be later replaced by some other crazed idea? Possibly! But I can’t deny the feeling I have when I drink it, the hours of energy and most importantly how damn delicious it is. But make sure you blend it so it emulsifies, otherwise you’ll just be having a very oily cup of coffee.

Enjoy!

About onehealthyman

A passionate fitness and health nut stuck in a corporate world, and loving it. Born in '74 and finding a new way of eating, living and loving life with an amazing family. I've been training in Muay Thai, weights and anything fitness for over 20 years.....now I found a whole new world of healthy eating and hopefully I can share even something with one person that makes a difference to their life.
This entry was posted in Articles and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

